A Day of Salumi and Architecture

As I predicted, yes, I did fall asleep on the table in the restaurant last night after I ate my grilled veggies. I woke up this morning at 2 am to my Dad tinkering with the AC… apparently the water/condensation tank had to be emptied. Luckily i fell back asleep and woke up at 9 am and by 10:30 we were out the door on search for food. We found a place, kind of like the food center, near the Piazza Maggiore (that is the piazza with all of the renaissance buildings). I got this magnificent plate of salumi with mortadella, prosciutto di parma, sopresata, lardo, parmegianno regianno, and another cheese spread that is unknown. It was phenomal, no other word to describe it. The lunch meats here in Northern Italy are made so carefully and no preservatives are added… they know what they are doing here!


Afterwards explored the historic part of Bologna in Piazza Maggiore. I went inside of the cathedral and found the bones of Saint Girolamo and I think the heart of Saint Benedict. There was a roped-off line going down the floor of the cathedral, kind of like a timeline, but it just had numbers on it and giant symbols. As I followed it, I saw that it was a line of the zodiacs, strange for a Catholic Cathedral (I researched it here https://www.google.it/amp/s/aleteia.org/2016/11/26/the-basilica-of-saint-petronio-in-bologna-a-church-built-on-astronomical-science/amp/). We then walked to the two towers of Bologna and hung around that old part of the city. It is bizarre to try and imagine people dressed in 11th century garb walking down the streets just as I did today. 

We then strolled down the main strada called Via dell’Indipendenza and window shopped among the myriad of shoe stores and pasticcerie. For dinner we grabbed a bite of pasta at a trattoria and then walked another 2 miles to get tiramisu (best I’ve ever had). I love how it doesn’t get dark in Bologna until 10:00, college kids are still walking around and shops are still open. There’s even a movie playing every night under the stars in Piazza Maggiore in front of the cathedral I mentioned earlier!


Adesso, ho bisogno dormire perché andiamo a Venezia domani. Buona notte a tutti e scribo più dopo 😴

Leave a Reply

